So You Want to be Successful? – Video

Posted: November 12, 2010 by Paul Rai in College Lacrosse, Junior Lacrosse, The Lacrosse Program, Video
Tags: , , ,

Over the past six years I have had the opportunity to work with many student-athletes primarily playing hockey and lacrosse.  One thing I have noticed from so many of them is that they all talk about wanting to be successful.  When I ask them what that is they usually respond with phrases such as “making Junior A, getting an NCAA scholarship, making the Western Hockey League, playing college lacrosse.”  When I watch many of these student-athletes on the ice, on the lacrosse field and in the classroom I am not convinced that success is that important to them.  The effort they exert does not equate to success as they define it.  As an instructor at The Lacrosse Program and at The Hockey Program it is my responsibility to teach these student-athletes what it takes to be successful.  I do see a small minority of student-athletes dedicate themselves to improving and achieving their goals.  They work hard, they eliminate distractions and they put in the extra work to make themselves a better student and athlete.  I had the opportunity to watch the following video and it made a huge impact on me because of how success was defined.  I want everyone to watch this video and determine if they really want to be successful.  I will continue to challenge our student-athletes to be better than the majority and separate themselves from the pack.  We will not stop pushing them to improve on the field and focus in the classroom.  We believe that through a good education and an unbelievable work ethic they will find their success.

Leave a Reply

