Lucky I Am

Posted: November 23, 2015 by Paul Rai in General Lacrosse, Vimy Lacrosse

It has been a long Fall lacrosse season. It started with the trip to Toronto with two teams playing in the Junior NLL Tournament. Back home for a couple of weeks and then off to the Onondaga Nation where the World Indoor Lacrosse Championships were being held. Back home again as the Harvest Lacrosse League was in full swing with six field teams playing in the league. Then at the end of October off to Denver with two Vimy teams playing in a 3D Lacrosse tournament. Home for a couple days then travel to Toronto and Rochester with the Vimy Girls High School team.  I then remained out east and met the Vimy Boys High School team as they played in Delaware and Pennsylvania.  All this was going on while the Vimy Winter Lacrosse Program was kicking off in Leduc. Through all this travel I believe I have spent more time this Fall with families other than my own. Finally back home a week ago today and I am just starting to feel some normalcy again.

With all the lacrosse chaos that has been going on with the teams, the travel and the coaching, I have had little time to reflect on the experiences til now. It has become very clear to me, when I do a self-assessment, that I am a lucky individual. I get to work with some unbelievable student-athletes in a sport that I love. I have the opportunity to coach them and watch them develop. There are definitely the potholes along the way as lessons are forgotten and mistakes are made. There are growing pains, especially with the younger teams as they learn the field lacrosse game. Our females are also learning and have taken their lumps, but they get themselves up and show great resiliency. It is those moments in time, when I see the players’ perseverance, that I know I am where I need to be.

The Vimy players are going places. Our female players are getting recognized. Our High School boys are playing some of their best lacrosse I have seen in the program. The potential in the program is amazing and I expect some great things for some of our players in the next year or two. That is a result of the amount of work the student-athletes have dedicated to the sport of lacrosse over the past several years.

The Vimy Winter Lacrosse Program is a great time for me because I get to see so many new players to the sport of lacrosse. The enthusiasm is contagious and the energy is exciting. The mini tyke and tyke players are the special ones, the youngsters just excited to pick up a ball and run. Do not get me wrong, it can be like herding cats, but it keeps you on your toes. I also love giving the Vimy sticks out to the players. I love seeing the players with our sticks in their hands and the pride they have in their new equipment.

None of this happens without supportive parents. So many parents have worked hard to make Vimy Lacrosse a success in the Edmonton area. I appreciate the support that parents have given to Vimy Lacrosse. I am extremely thankful.

It has been a great Fall season. The lacrosse has been phenomenal, the experiences have been valuable and the growth of our players has been exceptional. Looking towards the next great adventure. Vegas in February! Did I say how lucky I am?

 

 

Leave a Reply

